Just great place for everyone

What is Musahar community?

What is Musahar community?

Musahars are amongst the poorest of the Scheduled Castes and their deprivation is such that they are often compelled to subsist on a diet of rats and similar rodents. Their population is concentrated in Bihar, Jharkhand and Madhya Pradesh. The study pointed to the extreme socio-economic backwardness of Musahars.

Where is Musahar?

The Musahar are found throughout eastern Uttar Pradesh, southern Nepal and Bihar, and are employed in Bihar’s stone quarries. Many have also emigrated to the states of Punjab and Haryana as agricultural labourers, with many Nepali Musahars working as migrant labourers for 6 months at a time.

Which caste eats mouse?

These children belong to the Musahar community (“Musahar” meaning “rat eaters” in Bhojpuri), a socially marginalised community placed at the bottom rung of India’s hierarchical caste system. About 250 families from the community have been living in Kubaul village in Darbhanga district for the past 150 years.

What is Dalit caste list?

List of Scheduled Castes

  • Ad Dharmi. Aheria, Aheri, Hari, Heri, Thori, Turi.
  • Balmiki.
  • Bangali.
  • Barar, Burar, Berar.
  • Batwal, Barwala 6. Bauria, Bawaria.
  • Bazigar.
  • Bhanjra.
  • Chamar, Jatia Chamar, Rehgar, Ra igar, Ramdasi, Ravidasi, Balahi, Batoi, Bhambi, Chamar-Rohidas, Jatav, Jatava, Ramdasia.

What is a DOM in India?

Doms are the caretakers of the cremation grounds and the main keepers of the fire that lights the pyres. “One cannot enter the gates of heaven if their bodies are cremated without the presence of a Dom,” said Devi.

Can Dalit become Brahmin?

Because a dalit Hindu can convert to Islam, Christianity or to Buddhism, but she can never turn into a Brahmin.

What are the 7 castes in India?

Here are six of the most significant:

  • Brahmins. The highest of all the castes, and traditionally priests or teachers, Brahmins make up a small part of the Indian population.
  • Kshatriyas. Meaning “protector[s] of the gentle people,” Kshatriyas were traditionally the military class.
  • Vaishyas.
  • Shudras.
  • Adivasi.
  • Dalits.

Which is the lowest caste in India?


Dalit (from Sanskrit: दलित, romanized: dalita meaning “broken/scattered”), also previously known as untouchable, is a name for people belonging to the lowest stratum castes in India.

Which caste is Dom?

Doms are a Bengali Hindu caste found in the Indian state of West Bengal. The Doms were formerly classified as a criminal tribe under the Criminal Tribes Acts of the British Raj.

Which is the highest caste in Dalit?

the Dusadhs
George Kunnath claims that there “is and has been an internal hierarchy between the various Dalit castes”. According to Kunnath, the Dusadhs are considered the highest while the Musahars are considered the lowest within the Dalit groups.

Is Dhobi a Dalit?

Dhobis are members of the Dalit community, who fall on the lowest stratum of the caste system, the longest-running social hierarchy system in the world.

Which is the highest caste?

A hierarchical system wherein generally the Brahmins were at the head of the hierarchy, but this hierarchy was disputed in some cases. In various linguistic areas, hundreds of castes had a gradation generally acknowledged by everyone.

Who started caste system in India?

According to the social historical theory, the origin of caste system finds its origin in the arrival of Aryans in India. The Aryans arrived in India in around 1500 BC.

Can you tell caste by last name?

A person’s caste identity is inherent in their surnames (most times, but not always). The corollary of this is that a person’s caste can be discerned by looking at their surnames. This is more true for Brahmins than others. By various estimates Brahmin population in India ranges between 3% and 5%.

Is Dom a low caste?

Dom a lower caste community of the Hindu religion. They are marked as untouchable and are primarily engaged in handling and dissection of corpse, burial and cremation.

Which caste is rich in India?

50.3 percent of Brahmins are in the wealthy class, 13 percent are in the lower category, and the rest are in the middle class, as per the National Health survey. One significant observation about Brahmins is that the Brahmin community can practice any occupation or source of livehood.

Can a Dalit become a Brahmin?

Is Dhobi a Rajput?

Dhobi or Dhoba,have derived the name from the Hindi word dhona which means to wash. They claim to have originated from Rajput. They are distributed all over the state. Their main concentration is in Ajmer district.

Are Dhobis shudra?

In North India, castes like the Jats, Yadavs (though they are called people of Srikrishna heritage) Gujjars, Patels, Marthas to Dhobis and Nayees were considered to be Shudras who are physically touchable, but spiritually untouchable in Varnadharma Hinduism of modern times.

What are the 5 castes?

These four castes are the Brahmins (priests, teachers), Kshatriyas (rulers, warriors), Vaishyas (landowners, merchants) and Sudras (servants), and the 5th group is the group of the untouchables, called Dalits.

Which is the richest surname in India?

Ambani Family
The net worth of Ambani family is INR 3,80,700 crores that puts it on top of the list among the richest Indian families.

Who is Dom in Hinduism?

Which caste is most in Bihar?

Castes, Ethnicity and Genetics

Important castes of Bihar
Caste Population (%) Notes
Forward caste 16% Four upper-castes – Brahmin-6%, Bhumihar-3.2% Rajput- 5.2% Kayasthas -1% constitute around 18% of state population.
(STs) 1.3%
Others 0.4% Includes Christians, Sikhs, Jains and Buddhists

Which is the No 1 caste in India?

At the top of the hierarchy were the Brahmins who were mainly teachers and intellectuals and are believed to have come from Brahma’s head. Then came the Kshatriyas, or the warriors and rulers, supposedly from his arms. The third slot went to the Vaishyas, or the traders, who were created from his thighs.

Is kanojia a high caste?

Yes Kanojia Rajak belongs to Chauhan Rajput clan of Mewar Rajputana. They are basically Suryavanshi Kshatriya and follow the kshatriya dharma.