What does 11550 mean?
California Health & Safety Code § 11550(a) makes it a crime to use or be under the influence of a controlled substance without a valid prescription for the substance taken. Defendant must show that he or she has a valid prescription for the substance at issue.
What is 11377 a HS?
Possession of Methamphetamine – California Health and Safety Code 11377(a) California Health & Safety Code 11377(a) makes it a crime to possess methamphetamines for personal use. Possession of methamphetamine is described under California Health and Safety Code 11377(a).
What is a controlled substance California?
A controlled substance is a regulated drug that has been placed on a schedule of controlled substances by the State of California. Some of these are always illegal, such as cocaine, heroin, or meth. Others are prescription drugs, such as painkillers like morphine and oxycodone.
Is HS 11350 a wobbler?
HS 11350(a) is a wobbler crime. This means that HS 11350(a) is charged as a felony or as a misdemeanor.
Is 11550 a misdemeanor?
California Health and Safety Code 11550 HS makes it a crime to be under the influence of a controlled substance that is not lawfully prescribed. The offense is a misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in county jail.
Is 1203.2 PC a felony?
Basic Information About Penal Code 1203.2 in California
This legal code is used to handle violations for: Misdemeanor/summary probation. Felony/formal probation. DUI (driving under the influence) probation.
What does H&S mean in jail?
Health & Safety Code 11377(a) HS is the California statute making it illegal to possess any of several types of narcotics, including methamphetamine. In most cases, simple possession for personal use is charged as a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of. up to one year in jail and. a fine of up to $1000.00. 1.
What is the difference between 11350 and 11377?
There is very little difference in substance between the statutes, except that unlike section 11350, which is most often charged as a felony (unless the drug is a certain class of barbiturates), section 11377 can be charged as a misdemeanor.
How much coke is a felony in California?
Possession or purchase of up to one kilogram of cocaine base or crack with the intent to sell is a felony punishable by three, four or five years in prison and a maximum fine of $20,000 for each offense. [Cal. Health and Safety Code, Sections 11351.5, 11372, and Penal Code, Section 1170(h)].
What is the penalty for possession of a controlled substance in California?
According to HS 11350(a), possession of a controlled substance is a misdemeanor in California punishable by up to 364 days in county jail. You can also be placed on probation or parole that will likely subject you to random drug testing and searches by the police.
Is HS 11350 a felony?
Health and Safety Code 11350(a) HS makes it a misdemeanor offense in California to have unlawful possession of a controlled substance without a proper prescription. According to the United States Controlled Substances Act, a controlled substance can include both illicit street drugs and legal prescription drugs.
Is alcohol a controlled substance?
Neither alcohol nor tobacco is legally listed as a controlled substance. Over the years, despite the staggering risks associated with teen alcohol abuseand teen smoking, lobbying to get alcohol and tobacco listed as controlled substances has been largely ineffective.
What does PC 148 A 1 mean?
Penal Code 148 – Resisting Arrest Defined (a) (1) Every person who willfully resists, delays, or obstructs any public officer, peace officer, or an emergency medical technician, as defined in Division 2.5 (commencing with Section 1797) of the Health and Safety Code, in the discharge or attempt to discharge any duty of …
What is PC 245 A 1 felony?
Assault with a Deadly Weapon
Assault with a Deadly Weapon Laws in California. California Penal Code 245(a)(1) PC describes the crime of assault with a deadly weapon as when someone attacks, or attempts to attack, another person with a deadly weapon (other than a firearm), or by a means that is likely to cause great bodily injury.
Is probation violation a felony or misdemeanor?
Although you can go to jail or prison for violating the terms of your probation, the violation of probation itself will not result in a new felony or misdemeanor charge. Probation is a punishment for a previous crime. So, unless you violated your probation by committing a new offense, you will not face new charges.
What does PC stand for in court?
If you say that someone is PC, you mean that they are extremely careful not to offend or upset any group of people in society who have a disadvantage. PC is an abbreviation for ‘politically correct’.
What does PC stand for in criminal justice?
“Reasonable articulable suspicion” (RAS) and “probable cause” (PC) are two of the most important concepts in criminal work.
What is a 1203.2 PC charge?
Penal Code 1203.2a PC authorizes the arrest of any probationer if there is probable cause to believe he committed an offense or violated any term or condition of his probation. Note that this arrest can take place with or without a warrant, depending on the specific circumstances of a case.
How long do you go to jail for possession of drugs in California?
How Long Do You Go to Jail for Drug Possession? If you face a misdemeanor, the maximum punishment is 12 months in jail. For possession of marijuana, the offense is punishable by up to six months of jail time. Juvenile drug possession California charges could only be for an infraction.
Is possession of a controlled substance a felony in California?
Possession of a controlled substance is also known as “simple possession” or “drug possession” in legal terms. It is a misdemeanor offense under California’s Proposition 47, the current law guiding charges for possession of a controlled substance.
How many years do you get for drug possession in California?
In general, first-time misdemeanor drug possession charges are punishable by one year in jail and up to a $1,000 fine. The time you spend in jail for possession of drugs in California depends on several factors, including: If you are charged with “simple possession” If you are charged with “possession for sale.”
What are the 4 types of controlled substances?
Controlled substances include opioids, stimulants, depressants, hallucinogens, and anabolic steroids. Controlled substances with known medical use, such as morphine, Valium, and Ritalin, are available only by prescription from a licensed medical professional.
Is CBD controlled substance?
CBD Use in the United States
In 2018, the U.S. Congress passed and signed into law the Agriculture Improvement Act. This law removed hemp from the federal Controlled Substances Act, effectively legalizing CBD if it comes from hemp.
Is 148 PC a felony?
A violation of 148 PC is charged as a misdemeanor in California (as opposed to a felony or an infraction). The crime is punishable by: imprisonment in county jail for up to one year, and/or. a maximum fine of $1,000.
What is PC 484 A?
California Penal Code [CPC] §484(a) – Petty Theft – Penal Code Section 484(a) makes it illegal to take property owned by someone else without the owner’s consent.