Just great place for everyone

How do you get married at the courthouse in California?

How do you get married at the courthouse in California?

No appointment is necessary for a marriage license—show up at the Clerk-Recorder’s Office with your future spouse and: Fill out a marriage license application using the Clerk-Recorder’s public computers or fill out an application online before you arrive.

How do you get married at a local courthouse?

To get married in court, contact your local courthouse about getting a marriage license, and gather the necessary documents, like a driver’s license. Fill out the application and required paperwork for the license, and pay the fee before submitting your application to the court.

What do you need to get married in Monterey County?

A valid state driver’s license, state identification, or passport is acceptable alone; however, a temporary driver’s license, military ID, immigration card, school ID, or employment ID is acceptable only along with a certified copy of the birth certificate.

Do you need a witness to get married at the courthouse in California?

Effective 1/01/15 – The couple may be married in any county in California. No witnesses are required to be at the ceremony, AND no witnesses sign on the marriage license. The marriage license is a confidential record and is registered at the County Clerk’s Office in the county where it was purchased.

Can you get married same day in California?

The Same Day Marriage option is available to those who are ready to go for it! If that’s you, call us now to schedule an appointment. Requirements: You must bring your marriage license and government issued photo I.D. with you.

How much is it to get married at the courthouse in California?

Marriage License and Ceremony Fees
Service Fee
Public Marriage License $91
Confidential Marriage License $85
Civil Ceremony $35

How many guest can attend a courthouse wedding?

How many people can you have in a courthouse wedding? Again, every courthouse has different policies, but you can definitely expect no more than 10 to 15 people max. This includes everyone from the officiant to your photographer and immediate family members.

What vows are said at a courthouse wedding?

Courthouse Wedding Ceremony Script

Traditional- “I do solemnly declare that I know not of any lawful impediment why I, (your name), may not be joined in matrimony to (your partner’s full name).” Modern- “I declare that I know of no legal reason why (your name) may not be joined in marriage to (your partner’s name).”

Do you need a permit to get married on the beach in Monterey CA?

Both are located south east of Municipal Wharf No. 2. A Beach Permit is required for groups of 10 or more.

Contact Us.

Resource Phone
Monterey County Recorder (marriage licenses) (831) 647-7906 or 755-5041
Monterey History & Art Association (831) 372-2608
Monterey State Historic Park (831) 649-7118

Can you get a marriage license and get married the same day California?

California marriage licenses are only valid for 90 days, so you must obtain your marriage license within the 90 days immediately prior to your wedding date. No blood test is required. There is no waiting period. The clerk will give you your license immediately.

Can I get married without a ceremony California?

No. If you purchased a marriage license, California law requires you to have a marriage ceremony performed anywhere in the State of California. The ceremony must be performed by a person who is authorized by law to solemnize marriages in California within 90 days from the date the license is issued.

How much does a courthouse wedding cost in California?

Public Marriage License fee is $70.00. This is the most common type of marriage license. Must have at least one witness present at the ceremony. No more than two witnesses may sign the official marriage license after the ceremony.

Can you get marriage certificate same day California?

What documents do I need to get married in California?

Both parties must present a valid, unexpired authentic legal photo identification card containing a photograph, full legal name, date of birth, date of issue, and date of expiration (Examples: passport, driver’s license, naturalization certificate, resident alien card, military I.D.) If the legal picture I.D.

How fast can you get married?

You’d be surprised to know that many states allow it. Of the 50 states in the US, 31 have no restrictions on granting licenses and marrying the couple on the same day. In those states, there is also no waiting period, so you apply, get it, and get married.

What are the things needed for court wedding?


  • Birth Certificate or Declaration of Age.
  • Passport Photograph.
  • Indigene Letter/Letter of Identification from State of Origin (Nigerians only).
  • Sworn Affidavit of Bachelorhood from a Law Court/ Bachelorhood Certificate (if bachelor).
  • Affidavit of Marriage (if already married).

Can you get married without an officiant in California?

A: Yes! Self-uniting marriage ceremonies are legally binding marriages, as long as the state and county the marriage license originated from allows this form of ceremony.

Do both parties have to be present to get a marriage license in California?

Both parties must appear in person and bring valid picture identification to the County Clerk’s Office to apply for a marriage license in California.

How much does it cost to get married by civil in California?

How do you get married in one day in California?

You can contact the Clerk of the Court of any county for them to issue a Public or Confidential Marriage License. Some counties like Kern County* are open to the public and offer same day service. A license issued from ANY county is good for use throughout the state.

Where is the easiest place to get married?

The Easiest States to Get Married In #1: Colorado
Colorado law does not require a blood test, witnesses, or a waiting period in order to get married. Furthermore, a couple can self solemnize their own marriage. New to the term?

What is the disadvantage of court wedding?

Thoroughness. Another disadvantage of court marriage is the thoroughness it demands from an applicant in filing all the documents. When filling the documents, one must provide personal information in all of the different forms. Another is with the affidavit, which is a written notarized testimony.

What do guests wear to a courthouse wedding?

If You’re Attending A Courthouse Wedding
A courthouse is a public official’s office, so it’s a good idea to err on the side of business casual, versus a laid-back look you might wear to run errands. Read: A sports coat and slacks, a dressier sundress or a nice blouse plus slacks or a skirt are all great options.

Can a friend marry you in California?

California Regulations:
Section 400-402 of the California Family Code states that any “authorized person of any religious denomination” may officiate a wedding, including those who have received authorization via the Internet from religious groups.

What happens if you don’t turn in your marriage license within 10 days California?

You will probably still be considered married even without the certificate. California law, for instance, needs the officiate to return the license to the recorder or county clerk within a 10-day period after the wedding.

How do you get married at the courthouse in Alaska?

Marriage Law Requirements for Alaska Marriage Licenses:

  1. Minimum age to marry: 18.
  2. Waiting Period: 3 Days.
  3. License Validity: 90 Days.
  4. Blood Test: Not Required.
  5. Residency: Not Required.
  6. Alaska Marriage License fee is $60.
  7. Witnesses: Two witnesses are required for the wedding ceremony.

How much does it cost to get married at the courthouse in California?

Marriage License and Ceremony Fees
Public Marriage License $91
Confidential Marriage License $85
Civil Ceremony $35
RR/CC-Provided Witness for a Civil Ceremony $20

How does a courthouse wedding work?

A courthouse wedding is a nonreligious ceremony that allows you to legally marry your partner. Unlike a religious ceremony, courthouse weddings are presided over by a legal official, such as a judge or court clerk.

Do you need witnesses to get married in California?

What paperwork do I need to get married in Alaska?

You and your spouse will both have to bring a government-issued photo ID, which could be a driver’s license, a passport, a military I.D. card, or a different state-issued ID. A birth certificate may also be required to show proof of date of birth. Make sure no one misses your big day with these cute ideas.

How much does it cost to get married at the courthouse in Alaska?

Ceremonies may be scheduled at the Courthouse. Ceremonies are by appointment only, at the court, and only during regular business hours (8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.). Cost is $25.00. You must bring two witnesses with you to the ceremony.

Do I need a witness to get married in California?

I, ____, take you, ____, to be my lawfully wedded (husband/wife), to have and to hold, from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, until death do us part.

How fast can you get married in Alaska?

Once you have submitted your application and have given all of the necessary legal information, you can get your marriage license on the spot. You will, however, need to wait three business days for the application to fully process, and the license expires after three months, so just keep that in mind.

Can you elope in Alaska?

You can elope almost anywhere in Alaska as long as you have a marriage license and the necessary permits. Popular spots to elope in Alaska include Denali National Park, Juneau, and Anchorage.

What is required to get married in Alaska?

Both parties must be 18 years of age or older to marry without parental consent. A birth certificate may be required to show proof of age.

How much does it cost to get married in Alaska?

The cost of a marriage license in the state of Alaska is $60.

How many witnesses do you need to get married in Alaska?

Marriage by Proxy
Proxy marriages (where someone stands in for the other party) are not permitted in Alaska. The two parties must be present before the two witnesses and the officiant in order for the ceremony to be performed.

Where can I elope in Alaska?

The Best Elopement Locations in Alaska

  • Top 5 Places to Elope in Alaska. Kenai Peninsula / Specifically the towns of Seward, Homer or Cooper Landing.
  • Denali National Park.
  • Wrangell-St.
  • Hatcher Pass.
  • Girdwood.
  • Kenai Peninsula.
  • The Town of McCarthy.
  • Take a Ride in a Helicopter.

Can you get married without witnesses?

the marriage must be entered in the marriage register and signed by both parties, two witnesses, the person who conducted the ceremony and, if that person is not authorised to register marriages, the person who is registering the marriage.

What do you need to elope in Alaska?

Of the 50 states in the US, 31 have no restrictions on granting licenses and marrying the couple on the same day. In those states, there is also no waiting period, so you apply, get it, and get married.

What changes when you get married legally?

One of the most important legal changes that occurs when you get married is the acquisition of “marital property”. Whether it is a house, boat, car, television, or just a coffee mug, any asset that is acquired by either spouse during the marriage may treated as a marital property in a divorce.

How long do you have to change your name after getting married?

The good news is that there is no time limit to changing names after marriage. While most brides make the transition to their new name within 2-3 months of their wedding, some brides may take years. If you decide to take your spouse’s name in place of your own surname the process is very straightforward.